Canada Bans Entry For Travelers From 10 Countries, Including Egypt

Canada Bans Entry For Travelers From 10 Countries, Including Egypt

Photo via Bloomberg

On Tuesday, 1 December Canada announced banning travelers arriving from Egypt, Nigeria, and Malawi, over fears of the spread of the new COVID-19 variant, Omicron.

Canada previously banned entry to travelers from Botswana, Swaziland, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe last Friday. Two days later, on Sunday, Canada confirmed detecting its first cases of the new Omicron strain.

Canadian nationals and permanent residents who have been in these ten countries, even those who are fully vaccinated, must be tested before entering Canada, and will face more testing and quarantine measures upon their arrival.

This comes following the Egyptian Ministry of Health’s announcement that no cases of the new variant were detected in Egypt so far, and that the country is taking “quick preventive measures”.

“Foreign nationals who have transited or stayed in these 10 countries cannot enter Canada if they have been in those countries in the last two weeks,” said Jean-Yves Duclos, Canada’s Health Minister, in a press conference.

Good Wife or Public Wife? The Evolving Role of Egypt’s First Ladies
‘A Disgrace’: Fans React to Egypt’s Salah’s Seventh Ranking in the Ballon d'Or 2021

Subscribe to our newsletter


A journalism graduate from the American University in Dubai who is curious, spontaneous, and often rebellious, Marina is a passionate Cairo-based journalist who aspires to become one of the most influential women in the Middle East. She likes to follow her heart and express that through words; her favorite form of expression.

More in News

Egyptian Court Denies Adoptive Family Custody of ‘Baby Shenouda’, Citing Lack of Jurisdiction

Egyptian Streets19 March 2023

Khaled El-Balshy Elected as Head of Egypt’s Journalists Syndicate

Farah Rafik18 March 2023

Egypt’s Giza and Saqqara Among 2023 World’s Greatest Places: TIME

Egyptian Streets17 March 2023

Minister of Tourism and Antiquities: Egypt Recorded 11.7 Million Tourists in 2022

Dina Khadr16 March 2023

By 2024, Egyptians May Be Required to Speak French by Law

Dina Khadr15 March 2023

Egypt to Provide EGP 1,000 Annually for Egyptian Women to Curb Population Growth

Egyptian Streets15 March 2023

RiseUp Summit’s 10th Edition at the Grand Egyptian Museum: What You Need to Know

Farah Rafik14 March 2023

National Research Institute of Astronomy and Geophysics: Ramadan 2023 to Start on 23 March

Marina Makary12 March 2023